Welcome to the Aurora Historical Society!

Giving the past a future! In continuous operation since 1906, the Aurora Historical Society is one of the oldest institutions in the Chicagoland area. Come tour the 1857 Tanner House, visit our changing exhibits at the David L. Pierce Art and History Center or make an appointment to do research at our History Center. Enjoy our special events such as lectures, cocktail parties for exhibit openings, July 4th Ringing of the Bells, and Holiday Open Houses at the Tanner House Museum. Shop in our gift shop. Enjoy history. We’ll be happy to see you.

Our Mission

The Aurora Historical Society gives the past a future by collecting, preserving, interpreting, and presenting the rich, diverse history of Aurora and the surrounding area.


John Jaros, Executive Director
Scott Sherwood, Museum Assistant
Nicole Baker, Gift Shop

Board of Trustees

Greg Probst, President
John Medernach, Vice President
Nick Sargis, Secretary
Scott Robowski, Treasurer
Virginia Potter

Nick Sargis
Shawn Van Kampen

Pin It on Pinterest